Steps to Get a LTC

CHL Application Steps

LTC Application Steps

There are several steps to get your Texas LTC.  Enroll in one of our classes and we will guide you through the procedure and help you get your LTC as efficiently as possible.   The following is a summary of the steps that we cover in class.

Step 1: Consult the GC §411.172 Eligibility section on page 5 of the Texas Concealed Handgun Laws  OR the Texas DPS eligibility checklist to verify that you meet the eligibility requirements.

Step 2:  If you feel that you meet all of the eligibility requirements then submit the online application.  Fees for the application submission are for the background check and funding the LTC program staff and administration.  These are not the fees for your LTC class.

Step 3:  Your DPS application will be assigned a Trace Number.   Use this trace number to schedule an appointment for  electronic fingerprinting with MorphoTrust.  MorphoTrust has many convenient locations including several throughout the DFW Metroplex.  MorphoTrust also offers photography services.  You only need photos if you do not have a Texas drivers license or photo ID.   If you have a valid Texas drivers license, Texas DPS will use your drivers license photo on your LTC.

Step 4:  Enroll in an available Texas LTC course session from Southlake CHL.   Attend the required classroom training, pass the written test, and the range qualification.  The instructor will provide you a course completion form (LTC-100) confirming your attendance and confirming you have passed the written test and range qualification.

Step 5:  Submit the complete application package to the Texas DPS including all of the items on this check list:

  • The bar coded application form sent to you in an email from the Texas DPS in a .pdf file
  • A copy of the receipt from MorphoTrust for your finger printing
  • A signed copy of the Certificate of Training provided by the instructor to affirm you attended the training class and passed both the written test and range qualification
  • If you don’t have a current valid Texas drivers license, two passport quality photos.  DPS will use your Texas drivers license photo if you have one.
  • Any other documents specifically requested by the Texas DPS such as proof of eligibility for discounts (senior citizen, active duty military and law enforcement, retired federal agent, etc.)

You can either mail these items to Texas DPS or upload the documents using the Texas DPS web form.

If you have any questions not covered in these steps you may wish to consult the DPS  FAQ or contact us.   The time from submission to receiving your license will vary depending on the number of other submissions.  If your application is complete and error free, you may receive your license in as little as 4 weeks.  You may NOT carry a concealed firearm prior to receiving your license in the mail.

Should your application be missing any required information, you will receive written notice from the Texas DPS and have 90 days to submit the missing information.